Morning Commute by Ally Malinenko

Your One Phone Call

Hey, he says,
Hey,
you look like my wife.
You Indian?
Hey, he says,
You Indian?
Let me show you a picture of my wife.
Look at that.
Ain’t she gorgeous?
She looks Indian.
But she’s a Puerto Rican.
Ha!
Isn’t that funny.
I was so excited.
Thought I bagged me an Indian
or a Pakistani
and then she tells me
No man, I’m Puerto Rican.
Whatever.
Close enough, right?
She’s still beautiful, right?
Like you.
I gotta say, I think you’re the most beautiful thing
on this train.
I mean, look at you.
Like my wife.
Right?
What’s your name?
What?
Sasha?
Oh, Dasha.
Like with a D.
That’s very exotic.
I like that.
You’re Indian?
Yeah, that’s what I thought.
Dasha, I’m Anthony.
I gotta tell you,
you’re the most beautiful thing
on this train.
I’m not bothering you, right?
I mean, you got a book.
I can…

View original post 118 more words

