“I am a Coal Miner” – Daniel MacFadyen

Creative Talents Unleashed

I am a Coal Miner

I have always been a coal miner,

struggled in the dank dark

to chip a way at life

in what is dark and cold .

I can rise every day

to the red carpet sun;

Become new and feel

kids kisses and soft rain.

And every day,

wash, breathe, remember,

that my time up here

is surely limited.

Every day the darkness below

pulls me to something

beyond the forearms of clerks.

How scared and brave

every inch of black rock

has made me, mad and full –

As human as anyone

can be.

Still I do know,

(sure as anyone),

I will return to that

dank dark black.

But for now,

I pull myself up

from this bed of us.

Full of our human smell,

so happy that I can know

and breathe you

on my day off.

© Daniel MacFadyen


macfadyenDaniel has been…

View original post 87 more words

Leave a Reply

