Jamaican Macabre by Maggie Mackay

I am not a silent poet

It will be my pleasure to poison Mr Rae

as him eats in the Great House.

The fools, Lord Belmore and Sir Willoughby Cotton

dance the Creolian hop a la Mustee.

I slave in his kitchens,

my belly fired after him rape mi in the scullery

like I was his peaberry fruit.

His boasts ride on fiddle jigs into the valley

where my baby sleeps.

..

Maggie Mackay is a brave-hearted Scot and a final year MA Poetry student at Manchester Metropolitan University. She has work in various print and online publications, including A New Manchester Alphabet, Bare Fiction, Ink, Sweat and Tears, Prole, The Interpreter’s House, Indigo Dreams Publishing and Three Drops Press.

View original post

Leave a Reply

