WHEN ON SOME STRANGE PLANET by Bart Wolffe

“Are you happy?” she asked.

“Content” was my all too glib reply.

There are moments that ease anxiety

Eked as a sip from a whisky glass, a cigarette,

Symbols of my independence

Or perhaps more truthfully, a secret rebellion

Such as an unspoken bet,

A moment of making my own answer

That warps the lines and rules that bind me

For yesterday has been a long and painful road

And I now have found I shape my God

To suit my need and not another’s.

 

When on some strange planet

Whose moon is unknown

Then the surrounding stars offer longing

For some lost home.

Leave a Reply

