the bobblehead’s pilgrimage

unbolt me

i’ve looked for jesus but the sky is too low
it drapes over my eyes like a scurvy blindfold
i’ve prayed to the god i no longer believe in
for release but that’s ground that won’t soon receive me
it keeps on pushing me away

i’ve suckled sweet milk but it goes down the wrong pipe
it tears my throat to shreds like a white-hot ramrod
i’ve tangled in the beard of a two-faced brahmin
for release but that’s sanskara that won’t soon protect me
it keeps on pushing me away

i’ve stood on the mount but the wind is too severe
it tamps my ears to the brim with scalding red sand
i’ve done sajdahs till my forehead drowns in blood
for release but that’s zakat that won’t soon purify me
it keeps on pushing me away

i’ve picked off withered minds but more grow from the tree
it…

View original post 130 more words

Leave a Reply

