A Ten Question Interview With The Artist… Chumki Sharma

Your One Phone Call

Why do you write?

I write to leave a legacy. My insignificance in the universe is strangely offensive to me. The fact that every morning I am a day closer to death and with me, everything I love will die too wounds me. Poetry is my war against mortality.

What books do you read?

I read a lot of fiction-thrillers and drama. Ancient history fascinates me too. Rarely poetry.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by life and the business of living. Pulling it apart at the seams and seeing what’s inside. Like an archaeologist digging for clues. I look underneath the surface of what is seen, to find the places that are not seen but felt.
The creative process itself brings me to a place of being totally present and that process itself is inspiring. Just the act of looking through the viewfinder of poetry slows me down and…

View original post 609 more words

Leave a Reply

